Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Roasted Okra December 23, 2014

Jamie says: Okra. It’s one of those foods that’s a challenge. I remember in my World Herbs and Vegetables class back in undergrad, we had to pick a canned veggie and cook with it. I chose the okra for the challenge. I can’t remember how it came out. Probably good enough for a canned vegetable. Since then, I tried making it again, and it was alright. (Okra can be a bit slimy.) But, now I can finally say, “mission accomplished.” I roasted it. Roasting is a miracle worker. I can’t believe I didn’t think to roast it sooner… I roast everything.

Roasted Okra

Roasted Okra

It was tasty and so simple! I ate them like fries (healthy fries, that is).

So good, you can eat them like fries

So good, you can eat them like fries

Roasted to perfection. Enjoy! I’m ready to make some more!

Cooked to perfection

Cooked to perfection

Roasted Okra

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb fresh okra
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil (extra virgin)
  • dash salt or sea salt
  • dash freshly ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Wash okra and slice stems off to remove.
  2. Place okra in a pile on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil. Use clean hands to toss okra with oil.
  3. Spread okra on baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake 20 minutes or until light golden brown. Enjoy!

Serves: 2

Nutrition note: Oranges aren’t the only excellent source of vitamin C. So is okra. Seven pods (3″ in length) provide almost 1/3 of the recommended amount of vitamin C. (Source: Fruits & Veggies More Matters)

 

Leave a Reply

