Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet Onion Soup April 27, 2013

Jamie says: To be quite honest, I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to make after I got done eating my shrimp cocktail the other night. All I knew was that it was going to involve kale and I had half a carton of chicken soup sitting in my fridge waiting ever-so-patiently to be enjoyed. I started with my kale and soup (the requirements) and saw an unfinished bottle of wine- that was going in, too I decided. There was some leftover cooked rice in the fridge because I love batch-cooking now-a-days… in the pot you go, rice! I chose onion because I didn’t feel like peeling garlic (I’m being brutally honest). My Mom taught me to put white beans with greens- so I grabbed a can from the pantry. And the extra virgin olive oil was for some good fat. Oh, and the cheese on top? Yes, that’s because cheese is awesome and there was an almost finished bag of that in the fridge, too. See how I cook sometimes? It’s not usually all planned out… but that’s the fun of it… to whip together something and say, ah, that’s delicious and I made it myself!

Sweet Onion Soup

Sweet Onion Soup

It’s like a lighter (but equally tasty) version of French onion soup!

It's like a lighter French onion soup!

It’s like a lighter French onion soup!

The moscato (sweet white wine) is the secret ingredient here. It makes the soup sweet.

What's the secret ingredient that makes this soup so special? Moscato!

What’s the secret ingredient that makes this soup so special? Moscato!

Sweet Onion Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light brown rice, pearl couscous, brown flaxseed, and black lentils (Rice Select Royal Blend with Flaxseed)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 large sweet onion
  • one 15.8 oz can Great Northern beans (Bush’s Best)
  • 16 oz (half a 32 oz carton) 100% fat free 33% less sodium chicken broth (Swanson)
  • 8 0z (1/2 bag) kale (Glory Foods)
  • 1 cup moscato (wine)
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil (Filippo Berio)
  • 1 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese (Sargento Off the Block)

Directions:

  1. In a medium pot, add rice blend and water. Bring water to a boil, stir, reduce heat to medium-low, and cover with a lid and cook for 18 minutes. Remove from heat. (Rice can also be cooked ahead of time and refrigerated or frozen and defrosted). 
  2. Slice onion into thin slices and cut slices in half. Rinse and drain beans.
  3. In a medium-large pot on medium high heat, add chicken broth, kale, and white wine. Cook for 5 minutes. Add onion, beans, and rice. Cook for an additional 5 minutes or until onions are soft.
  4. Pour into bowls and top with shredded cheese. Enjoy!

Servings: 4

Serving suggestion: Serve with whole grain cracker/chips (like Rice Works Wild chips)

  • Nutrition note: Healthy substitutions and cooking techniques add up such as using whole grain rice, rinsing beans to reduce sodium, choosing a reduced sodium chicken broth, and using a part-skim cheese.
 

Leave a Reply

