Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Rosemary Baguette Ham Sandwich with Fresh Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Basil September 4, 2012

Jamie says:  I was craving a sandwich for dinner the other night. I was looking for something a little more special than your average sandwich… I quickly dreamed up this Italian hoagie- a Rosemary Baguette Ham Sandwich with Fresh Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Basil. It surpassed my high expectations…

Vine Rosemary Baguette

I brought the loaf home from Vine at the farmers’ market and cut it into fourths. Then I cut each piece in half and placed them in a gallon sized Ziploc bag to keep them fresh. I then took pieces out of the freezer and they’re still so fresh.

I cut the baguette into sandwich-sized pieces, slice ’em, and freeze the pieces in a resealable bag for maximum freshness

After cooking all day at work, I wanted an easy dinner that was also satisfying. I made this Rosemary Baguette Ham Sandwich with Fresh Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Basil. I served it with fat free cottage cheese and fresh squeezed orange juice from the farmers’ market.

Rosemary Baguette Ham Sandwich with Fresh Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Basil

I was surprised at how something so simple to make could be so satisfying. The fresh ingredients I used made it oh-so-good. It was one of those “eye-closer” sandwiches. (Kathryn likes using that term for delicious foods that are so good they practically demand you to close your eyes so you can take in the greatness of it.)

Fresh ingredients for a fresh taste

I was seriously having flashbacks to Italy while I was eating this sandwich. Maybe you will, too…

My very Italian sandwich- “molto bene!” (means “very good” in Italian)

Rosemary Baguette Ham Sandwich with Fresh Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Basil

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Slice baguette in half. Place halves in the toaster to toast and heat. Drizzle inside with extra virgin olive oil and vinegar and sprinkle with oregano. Press halves together to distribute ingredients.
  2. Add sea salt and freshly ground pepper to tomato slices and place on bottom half of baguette. Place mozzarella on top followed by basil, ham slices, and top half of baguette. Enjoy!

Servings: 1

  • Nutrition note: Keep your bread and cold cuts (like ham) fresh by freezing them. Don’t forget to slice your bread before you freeze it (if you’re going to want it sliced) and to defrost your cold cuts in the refrigerator the day before you’re planning on using them.
 

Leave a Reply

