Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Baked Apples with Melted Mozzarella August 3, 2012

Jamie says: I’ve been wanting to bake apples for a couple of weeks now. I’m not sure why, but I’ve just had the urge to. I was down to my last apple in the fridge, so I decided it was time to experiment. I was thinking about how good brie and fruit are and made this simple recipe with that mouthwatering recipe in mind…

Baked Apples with Melted Mozzarella

With only two ingredients, it was quite easy to make. I watched the Olympics (swimming) while I waited for them to bake…

Two ingredients. Too easy not to try.

I loved the combination of tender, warm apples with oozing, soft, melted soft cheese… I can’t wait to bake some more apples! They’re on tomorrow’s grocery list.

Warm, tender apples with melting cheese… is your mouth watering yet?

Baked Apples with Melted Mozzarella

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium apple (organic gala)
  • 1 oz fresh mozzarella cheese (Sorrento)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Use an apple corer to remove core and cut apple into slices. Use a knife to cut each slice in half for a total of 16 slices. Place on a baking pan and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven.
  2. Cut cheese into small strips and place on top of baked apple slices. Heat an additional 5 minutes. Use a spatula to remove from pan. Serve on a plate. Enjoy!

Servings: 1

  • Nutrition note: Here are some nutrition facts- This snack has about 160 calories, 19 g carbs, 3 grams fiber (13% daily value), and 5 grams protein. The protein from the cheese and the fiber from the apple will help keep you satisfied between meals.
 

Leave a Reply

