Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Curry Cumin Cauliflower with Prunes July 24, 2012

Jamie says: I did it! I donated ten inches of my hair to Locks of Love this weekend.

Here’s the story: In the fall, I was ready for a hair cut and almost made an appointment to get it cut, but then I had a thought. I wanted to donate it to Locks of Love. So I told myself I’d wait until February, to allow my hair to grow a little more, and then I’d do it. February came and I thought, I could wait a little longer. Every once in a while, for the past several months, I’d take a ruler, hold it up to my hair, and ask myself would I be ok with my hair at that length? I’d often think, just a little more, just a little more. And so, months have past. (Actually, it had been a year and 3 months since my last haircut.) I’ve been waiting for the right time, and this weekend that time came.

I was a little nervous, but Kathryn was there with me and the hair stylist was great. I love my new cut and the fact that my hair (all four ponytails of it) is going to a child with cancer. In honor of fighting cancer and helping those fighting this disease, I am posting a cauliflower (anti-cancer food) recipe. (See the nutrition note at the bottom to learn more.)

Curry Cumin Cauliflower with Prunes

Wow! This tasted awesome! I couldn’t wait to eat the leftovers the next day. The become very soft, add a lot of natural sweetness, and complement the salt and curry/cumin spice mixture perfectly.

Super-delicious and super-nutritious cauliflower

Curry Cumin Cauliflower with Prunes

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 275°F. Chop cauliflower florets off stem. Chop florets into pieces that are just larger than bite-sized (i.e. cut each piece into quarters). Place in a large baking dish.
  2. Drizzle with canola oil and sprinkle with curry, cumin, and sea salt. Mix well. Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes.
  3. Increase oven temperature to 410F. Chop prunes into quarters. Stir prune pieces into cauliflower. Cook for an additional 15 minutes. Enjoy!

Serves: 3

  • Nutrition note: Cauliflower is a cruciferous vegetable, meaning it may lower your chance of getting cancer. The cruciferous family of vegetables includes arugula, bok choy, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, collard greens, horseradish, kale, radishes, rutabaga, turnips, watercress, and wasabi, according to the National Cancer Institute.
 

2 Responses to “Curry Cumin Cauliflower with Prunes”

  1. Stacey Says:

    Just made this .. It came out amazing even though I pan fired the califlower and didn’t put it in the oven .. Thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

