Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes May 12, 2012

Jamie says: Here’s a fun(ny) story. Imagine walking into your office and finding two giant squash on your desk. That’s what happened to me this week. It’s a pleasant (and welcome) surprise for a dietitian. I soon found out that my co-worker Alee gave them to me. (Thank you, Alee.) They were from her garden. After reading my blog, she wanted to see what I would do with them…

Well, first, I tossed them in my work purse and brought them with me to my MRI appointment. And when I got home, you can just picture my neighbor’s expression when I started pulling giant squash out of my bag in search of my keys.

But anyways, I brainstormed for a few days and was stuck on the idea of squash pancakes. So I made the thought into a reality…

Surprise squash

I also used basil from my new basil plant that I purchased from The HONOR Center’s (that’s where I work) booth at the farmers’ market.

Thai basil I purchased from The HONOR Center’s booth at the farmers’ market

I cut them two different ways. I sliced them into strips and used a peeler to make ribbons.

It takes a little patience to cut up the squash, but it’s worth it

My friend Rachel came over for my experimental squash pancake dinner, and I made Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes- the best of both worlds.

Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes

I thought the squash on top looked a little like scrambled eggs and that it looked really pretty with the green basil and red bacon. Stoplight pancakes?

Beautiful colors, awesome taste

The squash had a mild taste. We really liked the Parmesan cheese in the savory squash pancake. It was a fun and successful experiment.

Who would have ever thought squash could taste oh so good!

Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 large yellow summer squash (from my coworker Alee’s garden)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil, divided
  • 1/8 tsp salt, divided
  • 3 large cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese (Publix)
  • 3 slices bacon (Oscar Mayer Center Cut Original)
  • 9 leaves Thai basil (from my new basil plant from my work’s booth at the farmer’s market)
  • 1 cup just-add-water whole grain pancake mix (Kodiak Cakes 100% Whole Grains Frontier Flapjack and Waffle Mix)
  • 1 cup water
  • 30 dark chocolate morsels (Nestle’)
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup (Highland Sugarworks Grade A Dark Amber Pure New England Maple Syrup)
  • no stick cooking spray

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Using a large knife, slice one squash (larger squash) in half. Cut into thin strips and then slice strips into thirds. Place in a large baking dish. Drizzle with 3 Tbsp canola oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake for about 30 minutes or until soft.
  2. Use a vegetable peeler to cut second squash into ribbons. Mince garlic. Place squash ribbons and garlic in a saute pan on medium heat with 1 Tbsp canola oil and salt. Cook for about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low. Add Parmesan cheese. Stir.
  3. Microwave bacon for about 1 minute and 30 seconds or until cooked throughout. Chop into crumbles. Wash basil and chop into thick pieces.
  4. Beat mix and water with a fork. Preheat a pan on medium heat. Spray with no-stick cooking spray.
  5. To make savory pancakes, pour 1/6th of pancake batter onto pan to make one pancake and immediately add squash strips to mix. Cook until bubbles stop forming and bottom of pancake is golden brown, about 1 minute. Flip to cook other side and cook until golden brown, about 45 seconds. Repeat two more times to form a total of 3 savory pancakes. Divide cheesy squash ribbons among pancakes. Immediately before serving, top savory pancakes with all of basil and bacon (timing is important so basil won’t brown).
  6. To make sweet pancakes, pour 1/3 of remaining pancake batter onto pan to make one pancake and immediately add squash strips and 10 chocolate chips. Cook until bubbles stop forming and bottom of pancake is golden brown, about 1 minute. Flip to cook other side and cook until golden brown, about 45 seconds. Repeat two more times using all of remaining batter to form a total of 3 sweet pancakes. Top with maple syrup.
  7. Serve one savory and one sweet pancake on each plate. Enjoy!

Serves: 3

Nutrition note: Yellow squash is a type of summer squash. It is fat free, low in carbohydrates and calories, and high in vitamin C. (One half of a medium squash has 20 calories, 4 grams of carbohydrates, and 30% of the Daily Value for vitamin C, according to Fruits and Veggies More Matters.

 

4 Responses to “Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes”

  1. […] Parmesan cheese (Publix); 3 slices bacon (Oscar Mayer Center Cut … … Read more: Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes « Two Sisters, One Kitchen ← For Mom, Cake! Lighten Up Cobbler on the Grill! « Char-Broil LIVE […]

  2. […] says: I’m totally into pancakes right now. Food kick number 105. Friday night it was Sweet and Savory Squash Pancakes and this afternoon it was… Roasted Corn Whole Wheat Pancakes with Fresh Mozzarella, […]

  3. alee Says:

    wow! that recipe looks outrageously delicious (and pretty too). I plan on trying it soon! This is such a great blog. I’m going to bring you more food from the garden just so I can see what creative juices will flow. make sure there’s a spot on your desk for the Garden Fairy. Alee

    • J & K Says:

      Why thank you, Alee! And thank you for sharing your delicious garden squash with me. Aw, the Garden Fairy…I love it! 🙂 And I love a challenge!
      -Jamie


Leave a Reply

