Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Beet Orange Smoothie with Arugula March 30, 2012

Jamie says: I’m a rock star. Or at least I felt like one after drinking this with my breakfast…

Beet Orange Smoothie with Arugula

I wasn’t planning on making beet juice. But, after cooking some beets I witnessed the vibrant red color of the cooking water and just couldn’t throw it… so I saved it and decided to make a smoothie…

Beet red

Beets aren’t the only veggie in there. There’s also arugula from the farmer’s market. I read an article in the Publix Greenwise Magazine about using leafy greens in smoothies. I honestly thought it sounded kinda gross, but the seed must have been planted in my mind because I actually wanted to give it a try. And I rarely ever have vegetables with my breakfast…

Beets aren't the only veggies in here- there's arugula, too!

So, after drinking this juice, I felt awesome. It could be just up in my head, but who cares, right? So, to all the people who give me a hard time about not drinking coffee, I say you give one a try for your next energy boost.

Beet Orange Smoothie with Arugula

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup beet juice
  • 10 oz orange juice
  • 1/3 cup arugula
  • 2 ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Pour beet juice and orange juice in a mini blender. Remove stems from arugula; place leaves in blender along with ice cubes. Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Serves: 1

Nutrition note: See the naturally bright color in the beet juice? It’s a sign that there’s anthocyanins in there- good for you, antioxidants.

 

One Response to “Beet Orange Smoothie with Arugula”

  1. […] Preheat oven to 350°F. Rinse beets. Place a large sheet of aluminum foil in a baking dish. Pull foil up around beets like a boat. Add water. Pinch foil shut. Bake for 1 hour and 30 minutes or until soft when pierced with a fork. Allow to cool. Peel skin off beets. Refrigerate until cool. (Save beet juice for a Beet Orange Smoothie with Arugula). […]


Leave a Reply

