Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Bourbon Salmon February 26, 2012

Jamie says: I made Bourbon Salmon for dinner last night. It was a “treat yourself” day (Parks and Recreation, anyone?) with shopping, napping, good food and drinks, family, and friends. I do have to say, “treat yourself” days are really quite nice.

Bourbon Salmon

The recipe was really quite simple… just bourbon and salmon.

Bourbon and salmon

Actually, it wasn’t just bourbon. It was the really good stuff.

"The finest bourbon in the world"

I’ve never owned my own bottle of expensive liquor before- until now. I received the bourbon as a “moving away to start my new job” from my Mom.

Quality ingredients

With a quality product like the bourbon, I didn’t want to add any other ingredients- just the salmon and the bourbon. The Bourbon Salmon was tender and had a mildly sweet bourbon taste.

And I can’t forget to mention the awesome new plate. The plate was a gift from my parents from their visit to Colombia Restaurant, a Spanish restaurant in Celebration, Florida and some other cities.

And thank you to my kind neighbors for letting me use their oven when mine was taking a nap.

The new plate was a recent gift from my parents, too

Bourbon Salmon

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb salmon
  • 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp bourbon (Blanton’s The Original Single Barrel Bourbon Whiskey, 93 proof)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Place salmon in a small loaf pan. Pour 1 Tbsp bourbon on top. Bake for about 20 minutes or until cooked throughout. Pour a tsp of bourbon on top (if of drinking age, of course). Enjoy!

Serves: 1

  • Nutrition note: To convert proof to percent alcohol divide by 2. So, the 93 proof bourbon is 46.5% alcohol by volume.
 

3 Responses to “Bourbon Salmon”

  1. That plate is actually a design native to Spain . I have several items JUST like it same pattern and colors from when I lived in the south of Spain! Sounds yummy can’t wait to try! I only eat Salmon because I know it’s good for me but don’t really love, love it…this will definitely help as I really DO love, love Bourbon! : )

    • J & K Says:

      Interesting; I had no idea! Thanks for sharing! I hope you enjoy the salmon. I’ve grown to really enjoy it. And you’re right, it’s so good for you, too. -Jamie

  2. […] also was reminded of the bourbon I had, so I thought that Bourbon Salmon could be the main part of this […]


Leave a Reply

