Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Pickled Daikon February 18, 2012

Jamie says: One of my new year’s resolutions was to cook with more ethnic foods and foods outside my comfort box. So when I went to the farmer’s market and saw organic daikon I figured I’d give this new food a try…

Organic daikon from the farmers' market

I asked the vendor what I should do with it and he said he pickles it. I took his advice…

Pickled Daikon

Daikon is in the radish family. It’s crunchy and, when pickled, has a strong vinegar taste.

It tastes similar to a radish

I enjoyed it on a salad. I put extra virgin olive oil on the salad but held off on the vinegar. This allowed the daikon to provide bursts of vinegar flavor throughout.

Add to a salad or a sandwich for a twist

Pickled Daikon

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 daikon (organic, farmers’ market)
  • 1 cup white vinegar

Directions:

  1. With a vegetable peeler, peel daikon and cube with a knife. Place in a jar. Pour vinegar on top (enough to cover daikon). Place lid on jar and refrigerate for at least 24 hours. Drain. Enjoy!
Serving suggestion: Serve on a salad dressed with olive oil or in a sandwich.

Serves: 3

  • Nutrition note: Daikon is in the radish family. It is very low in calories and carbohydrates, and essentially has no fat, protein, and nutrients. Enjoy it is as a “free” topping.
 

Leave a Reply

