Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet Chipotle Ginger Chicken Meatballs & Balsamic Chicken Meatballs February 4, 2012

Jamie says: It’s been interesting adapting from grocery shopping and cooking for four to cooking for one. (When I was living at home after grad school, I’d grocery shop and make meals for my family, but now that I’ve moved and am working, I’m cooking for me.) It’s not a good thing or a bad thing- just a new way of living.

It didn’t really hit me that I hadn’t quite adapted, until I loaded up the grocery cart with almost the same amount of food that I had been buying for my whole family. I soon rediscovered the beauty of leftovers. At the same time, I didn’t want a ton of the same exact type of food leftover. So, I’ve started to make variations to my recipes- hence, the Sweet Chipotle Ginger Chicken Meatballs & Balsamic Chicken Meatballs…

Sweet Chipotle Ginger Chicken Meatballs Balsamic Chicken Meatballs

As I was eating them, I instantly thought they would make an awesome appetizer for a party.

Because sometimes, you want more variety!

The touch of honey, bold chipotle flavor, and refreshing ginger were a rockin’ combo. But then again, that balsamic was a strong one-man-band and was just incredible!

Which was my favorite? Can I say both? They were both so good!

Sweet Chipotle Ginger Chicken Meatballs & Balsamic Chicken Meatballs

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 lb ground chicken (Perdue)
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp garlic salt
  • dash freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle (Penzeys Spices ground red chipotle)
  • 1/4 tsp ginger (Penzeys Spices China Powdered #1 ginger)
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar (Regina vinegar of Modena)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Place ground chicken on a plate. Peel garlic and press over ground chicken; add remaining garlic pieces from garlic press to ground chicken. Add basil, parsley, oregano, garlic salt, and freshly ground pepper and mix well with clean hands. Divide ground chicken into two pieces and place on separate plates.
  2. To one piece of chicken, add chipotle, ginger, and honey. Combine with clean hands. Form into balls and place on a baking sheet.
  3.  To the other piece, add balsamic vinegar. Combine with clean hands. Form into balls and place on the baking sheet.
  4. Bake 18 minutes. Enjoy!
Serving suggestion: Enjoy on pasta, on Italian bread, or as an appetizer.

Serves: 1

  • Nutrition note: Healthy leftovers make an awesome meal for those busy nights. If you’re going to eat them within about 3-4 days, you can store them in the refrigerator. Otherwise, store them in the freezer.
 

Leave a Reply

