Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet Squash February 1, 2012

Jamie says: Before making this recipe, I had a slight aversion to winter squash (that’s the heartier squash as opposed to summer squash which is more watery). I believe it started a few years ago when K and I made this squash recipe. I may have eaten too much or burned it…can’t remember. Either way, I haven’t really desired to cook winter squash since then. Until now…

Sweet Squash

And I’m so glad I made it because it was absolutely delicious- the best winter squash I’ve ever had!

Check out that golden color!

I really felt like I was eating dessert. It looked and tasted like the golden pineapple you’d put on a pineapple upside-down cake. (I really bet you could fool someone because I was almost tricked myself.)

It really does look like pineapple!

Sweet Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp dark brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Cut squash in half, lay flat on cut side, and carefully cut skin off. Chop squash into large bite-sized pieces and place on a rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle sea salt on top. Bake for about 40 minutes or until golden yellow and soft when pierced with a fork.
  2. Remove from oven. Toss in dark brown sugar. Serve hot. Enjoy!

Serves: 2

  • Nutrition note: Colorful fruits and vegetables give you lots of nutrients. This awesome yellow squash contains carotenoids.
 

Leave a Reply

