Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Mediterranean Picnic Lunch January 29, 2012

Jamie says: When I was in the bakery at the grocery store, I picked up a crusty white baguette and added it to my cart. I later came across kalamata olives (on sale) and mozarella cheese (also on sale). My wheels started turning. I was going to have a Mediterranean picnic.

Mediterranean Picnic Lunch

After church, I invited my friend Clarissa over to join me in a mini-feast. We wined and dined- picnic style- and enjoyed the gorgeous weather.

Picnics are so much fun!

We each made plates and kept filling them up as we went.

My plate

I sliced the bread, spread some hummus on the inside, and stuffed it with sardines, olives, peppers, and cheese. The meal was simple, but the flavors were outrageous. Each ingredient could hold it’s own.

Beautiful, simple, and delicious

The grapes were a nice palate-cleanser…and so was the wine!

Skinny Girl Sangria- a Christmas gift from my cousin Ashley

A little later, I thought of dark chocolate as the perfect ending.

Dove Promises Dark Chocolate

I love how the Dove Promises have messages on them, too.

Each one has a message... I find them entertaining

Mediterranean Picnic Lunch

Ingredients:

  • 3.75 oz can sardines in olive oil (Brunswick; from Publix)
  • 12 pitted kalamata olives (Publix Deli)
  • 3/4 cup chick peas
  • 1 1/2 sweet pimento, flame roasted peppers (Vigo)
  • 3 thin slices fresh mozzarella cheese (Publix Deli)
  • 1/4 tsp basil
  • 1 1/2 cups grapes
  • 1/3 cup black bean hummus (MaDame Blue Rose’s, from Ward’s Supermarket)
  • 1/2 loaf crusty white baguette (Publix)
  • 10 oz sangria (Skinny Girl; only if appropriate for age, of course)
  • 10 dark chocolate squares (Dove Promises)

Directions:

  1. Drain sardines, olives,  chick peas, and peppers. Chop peppers. Slice cheese and sprinkle basil on top. Remove stems from grapes.
  2. Serve everything on separate dishes. Oh, and don’t forget to bring plates, forks, knives, napkins, glasses, lots of serving forks and spoons, and a smile. Enjoy in good company!

Serves: 2

  • Nutrition note: Enjoy a variety of foods to reap a variety of nutrients.
 

2 Responses to “Mediterranean Picnic Lunch”

  1. Robin Katzenstein Says:

    What a great idea for lunch! I might forgo the sardines though :o) I love reading your blog, Jamie! Thank you for sharing your love of life and healthy food.

    • J & K Says:

      Thanks, Robin! Glad you liked it and that you love the blog! Have you ever tried sardines? They are so good for you. I thought they sounded gross until I tried them. Then I loved ’em.
      -Jamie


Leave a Reply

