Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Turkey Taco Spinach Salad with Pita Chips January 19, 2012

Jamie says: My new roomie came back into town on Turkey Taco Spinach Salad night. It was great catching up and chatting. I cooked dinner in the new kitchen while she sat at the bar.

For some reason, it reminded me of when I was living at home and in school… I would do my homework on the bar counter top while my Mom cooked dinner. I could easily have done my homework at my large desk in my room, but for some reason, that wasn’t where I wanted to be. I didn’t care that in the kitchen sometimes a little water would splash around and get my homework assignment or book or that the phone would ring and phone calls would be had or that everyone would be walking around and talking. That was my homework spot. Looking back on it, even then the kitchen was my comfort zone.

Turkey Taco Spinach Salad with Pita Chips

I did realize I had turkey taco salad earlier in the week, but this one was different (granted, it was the same meat- frozen and defrosted, of course- and seasoning mix). I loved the crunchy pita chips and the extra boost of flavor from the taco seasoning mix.

Ground turkey taco-style on a bed of spinach with fresh avocado, tomatoes, onion, and green bell pepper; crunchy pita chips; shredded cheese, and smooth sour cream... yum!

Turkey Taco Spinach Salad with Pita Chips

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 lb lean ground turkey (Jennie-O)
  • 1/4 tsp and a dash taco seasoning mix (Publix), divided
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 slice onion
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 slice green bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup reduced fat sour cream (Breakstone’s)
  • 1/4 cups reduced fat shredded 4 cheese Italian (Sargento)
  • 10 Parmesan garlic & herb pita chips (Stacy’s)

Directions:

  1. In a small saute pan over medium-high heat, brown ground turkey for about 5 minutes or until cooked. Add water and 1/4 tsp seasoning mix. Stir. Reduce heat to medium-low and heat for about 4 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, pour spinach on a plate. Chop onion, avocado, tomato, and bell pepper. Add to spinach salad.
  3. Scoop dollops of sour cream around salad. Sprinkle a dash of taco seasoning on top.
  4. Scoop cooked ground meat on top of salad. Sprinkle cheese on top and add pita chips. Enjoy!

Serves: 1

  • Nutrition note: Look for lean- meat that, is. On the package, this may be written simply “lean” or “extra lean,” or it may be described in a less clear fashion as “93/7” or “99/1”- meaning the percent of lean meat to fat. You want the first number to be higher and the second number to be lower.
 

Leave a Reply

