Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Cubanelle Pepper Sandwiches December 1, 2011

Jamie says: I missed my Godchild already. It had only been two days since my last visit where I held her for the first time, but I was wanting to go back and see her the second I left. I know it sounds pathetic, but it’s like having a crush- except this time it was over a newborn baby. Sorry boys!

So, I called up my cousin (her Mother, my Godmother…what a chain of relationships…oh, and to add some more links to this chain, I was also her Maid of Honor in her wedding). I was thinking it must be hard to cook when you have a newborn, so I told her I was bringing lunch.

Now the question was, what should I make? It came instantly- Cubanelle Pepper Sandwiches- an Italian dish my Mom (and her Mom) make! So I got to work in the kitchen…

Cookin' the peppers and onions... the house is starting to smell good

Next I added the red sauce.

Now they're simmerin' in the tomato sauce

I packed them up in a baking dish with a lid, put them in a hot/cold bag, ran into Publix to pick up the multigrain bread from the bakery, and enjoyed lunch with my Godmother while Baby C slept peacefully in her little swing. From the “mmmms” and “yums,” I’d say it was a very tasty lunch.

The final product- Cubanelle Pepper Sandwiches

Cubanelle Pepper Sandwiches

Ingredients:

  • 4 cubanelle peppers
  • 1 1/2 small sweet onions
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • dash sea salt
  • dash pepper
  • 15 oz can tomato sauce (Contadina organic sauce)
  • 2 oz part-skim mozzarella cheese (Polly-o)
  • multigrain baton bread (Publix Bakery)

Directions:

  1. Wash cubanelle peppers and cut off tops. Cut in half and remove seeds; rinse with water to help remove seeds if needed. Slice into strips lengthwise.
  2. Wash, peel, and slice onions.
  3. Heat extra virgin olive oil in a large saute pan on medium-high heat. Add cubanelle peppers, onions, salt, and pepper. Stir. Cook for 12 minutes or until softened and lightly brown, reducing heat to medium when onions brown. Stir occasionally.
  4. Add sauce. Reduce heat to medium-low until ready to serve.
  5. Shred mozzarella cheese. Slice bread loaf in half lengthwise. Scoop sauce with peppers and onions in bread. Sprinkle with shredded mozzarella cheese. Slice into pieces to serve. Enjoy!

Serves: 3-4

  • Nutrition note: Ever heard of a cubanelle pepper? Ever eaten one? Be bold and be brave and buy a new vegetable at your next visit to the grocery store or farmers’ market. Then find a recipe and cook it. You’ll feel like you’ve mastered a new skill and you may even have a new veggie to add to your repertoire.
 

2 Responses to “Cubanelle Pepper Sandwiches”

  1. Yumm. Going to make this and your ‘green eggs’… minus the buns! i’ll prob make garbanzo flour pitas if need be (gluten intolerant)


Leave a Reply

