Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chilled Avocado-Lime Soup with Shrimp & Bacon Crumbles November 29, 2011

Jamie says: I entered the Kick Off with Hass Avocados Recipe Contest about a month ago. Yesterday was the day to find out if you were a finalist in the contest. I anxiously logged onto the page and scrolled down to see if my recipe was there. I couldn’t find it. Maybe I missed it. I scrolled down again. Nope. I did a Ctrl + F (aka the “find” function) and typed my name. No results found. Okay, so I didn’t make the finals. I’m not going to lie, I was a little disappointed- but only for about a minute. “You win some, you lose some.” “You can’t win them all.” So true. But if you don’t enter and face rejection, you have no chance of winning. Right? I’m glad I entered. There were some other great recipes, too. You can check them out on the Kick Off with Hass Avocados Recipe Contest’s Vote Now page and vote for your favorite. I did.

So what was my entry you ask?

A chilled, creamy avocado-lime soup topped with crispy, smoked bacon crumbles, freshly chopped tomatoes, crunchy tortilla chips, and fresh cilantro. It’s sure to be a crowd-pleaser.

Chilled Avocado-Lime Soup with Shrimp & Bacon Crumbles

Chilled Avocado-Lime Soup with Shrimp & Bacon Crumbles

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:
• 4 limes
• 4 fresh, ripe Hass avocados
• ¼ tsp salt
• ¼ tsp freshly ground pepper
• 4 cups low-fat, unsweetened kefir
• 1 tsp ground cumin
• ¼ cup fresh cilantro (or 2 Tbsp dried cilantro)
• 8 slices naturally smoked bacon
• 2 medium tomatoes
• ¼ tsp sea salt
• 12 cooked, peeled shrimp
• 20 tortilla chips
• 4-6 sprigs of fresh cilantro (optional)

Directions:

1. Juice limes. Add juice to blender.
2. Cut avocados in half, discard pit and skin, and place in blender along with salt, freshly ground pepper, kefir, and cumin. Pulse until blended.
3. Chop fresh cilantro. Fold into soup.
4. Chop raw bacon into small pieces. Microwave for about 3 minutes or until crispy. Use a paper towel to soak up grease.
5. Chop tomatoes into small pieces and sprinkle with sea salt.
6. Crumble tortilla chips.
7. Divide soup into bowls and top with bacon crumbles, tomatoes, shrimp, tortilla chips, and fresh cilantro sprigs. Enjoy!

Serves: 4-6

  • Nutrition note: Want a creamy soup without the extra calories, saturated fat, and cholesterol? Try using kefir instead of cream! You’ll also be adding probiotics!
 

Leave a Reply

