Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet Potato Pie Shake November 22, 2011

Jamie says: I opened my Glory Foods prize gift basket the other day. It looked so pretty that I just wanted to leave it there on the table with its plastic wrap on it, but you can’t have your cake and eat it, too. Which food should I make first, I thought. Ah, the sweet potato casserole caught my eye. (Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods.) Yes, that would be it- the can of sweet potato casserole was coming out. I heated it up and enjoyed it straight from the microwave. It was tasty and very sweet- great for a dessert… I thought it would go perfectly with slightly bitter kefir. My wheels were turning…

I made a:

 

Sweet Potato Pie Shake in my new Mason jar from Joe's Crab Shack and my spoon from TJ Yogurt Works

Yum! It tasted very similar to pumpkin! The sweetness of the canned sweet potato casserole and the bitter of the unsweetened kefir were the perfect match.

Graham crackers and whipped cream on top

Sweet Potato Pie Shake

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup canned sweet potato casserole (Glory Foods)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened nonfat kefir (Lifeway)
  • 2 Tbsp fat free whipped cream (Reddi Wip)
  • 1/2 honey graham snack cracker (Publix)

Directions:

  1. Add sweet potato casserole and kefir to a blender. Pulse until well-blended. Pour in a Mason jar or glass. Drink with a spoon if desired.
  2. Crush graham cracker into small pieces.
  3. Top sweet potato casserole kefir with whipped cream and crushed graham crackers. Enjoy!

Serves: 1

  • Nutrition note: After taking your first sip, you’ll have a hard time believing this sweet dessert/beverage has a nutritious side, too. But it has almost no fat and has lots of vitamin A, some fiber, calcium, and probiotics, so it certainly has a healthy kick to it.
 

Leave a Reply

