Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Creamy and Zesty Lemon Yogurt Oatmeal November 15, 2011

Jamie says: I woke up this morning feeling a bit under the weather (aka I have a cold). I like to deny that I’m sick until it’s quite obvious that I am because, personally, I believe a good chunk of it’s mental. I also believe you can fight it faster with good nutrition and rest. So this morning, despite having all my bike gear laid out and my alarm set, I skipped my morning bike ride and slept in a little more. Then, for breakfast, I made:

Creamy and Zesty Lemon Yogurt Oatmeal

I’ve never added lemon to my oatmeal, but maybe it (the vitamin C) was what my body needed since I am fighting this cold. I really liked the bold flavor the lemon zest added and the crunch of the almonds.

The fresh lemon zest adds vibrant color and an extra kick of flavor

Creamy and Zesty Lemon Yogurt Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (Quaker)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 6 oz lemon 0% fat yogurt (Stonyfield)
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds (Wonderful)

Directions:

  1. Combine oats and water, in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 3 minutes.
  2. Use a microplane to zest lemon. Add half of zest to cooked oatmeal. Juice lemon and add juice to oatmeal. Stir.
  3. Scoop yogurt on top. Sprinkle remaining zest on yogurt. Sprinkle almond slivers around the perimeter of the bowl. Enjoy!

Serves: 1

  • Nutrition note: By using fresh lemon juice and zest in your breakfast, you’re adding vitamin C (and lots of flavor) to your morning meal for only a few more calories.
 

Leave a Reply

