Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Waffles with Chilled Pears and Almonds September 28, 2011

Waffles with Chilled Pears and Almonds

Jamie says:  It’s time to start getting back into my triathlon training.  My new running shoes were begging me to be used.  So, this week was my first week back.  It felt great to get into the pool (my favorite place) and start “running” again.  I’m really trying to balance it out- swim, bike, run, weights, yoga, and rest days.  Yoga has been a nice addition to the mix- it keeps me from getting too tight and enables me to do my next workout.  And you can’t forget the delicious, healthful food that goes along with the training…

Waffles with Chilled Pears and Almonds

Ingredients:

  • 2 Kashi 7 Grain waffles
  • 1 Bartlett pear, ripe, refrigerated
  • 1 Tbsp Smart Balance Whipped Buttery Spread, organic
  • 2 Tbsp POM Wonderful Mini Almonds, roasted & salted
Directions:
  1. Heat waffles in a toaster.
  2. Chop a pear.
  3. Spread Smart Balance on waffles.  Top with chopped pear and almonds.
Serving suggestion:  Serve with a cup of cold, fat free milk.
Sweet and salty.  I like the contrast of the cold pear and warm waffle.
  • Nutrition note:  A balanced breakfast is a great way to start your day!  This meal provides protein (from the almonds and some from the waffles) and lots of fiber (from the pears, waffles, and almonds) to keep you full and satisfied longer.
 

Leave a Reply

