Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Maple Kefir July 26, 2011

Maple Kefir

Jamie says:  Ever tried kefir before?  I hadn’t until this week.  A dietitian at the VA Medical Center recommended it to me as a good source of probiotics.  I figured I’d give it a try and bought my first bottle of kefir.  (It’s sold next to the milk at Publix but it’s texture is more like a drinkable yogurt.)  I tried it plain at first, but then thought it could use a little more flavor.  Adding some maple syrup did the trick.

Maple Kefir

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup kefir (Lifeway organic lowfat kefir cultured milk, probiotic, plain, unsweetened)
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup

Directions:

1.  Pour Kefir in a glass cup.  Pour in half of maple syrup.  Swirl with a spoon.  Pour remaining maple syrup on top.  Serves: 1.  Enjoy!

The maple syrup adds a nice touch of sweetness to this drinkable yogurt.  I like it!

  • Nutrition note: Kefir is a good source of probiotics.  Lifeway organic kefir has 12 strains of probiotics which help support digestive health and immunity.
 

4 Responses to “Maple Kefir”

  1. sheelbeel Says:

    That sounds so good – I want to go get some kefir right now! I can’t believe I’ve never really heard of it or its benefits before now. Thanks for the tip!

    • J & K Says:

      I’m glad you’re interested! Thanks for sharing! When you do try it, let me know what you think. 🙂
      -Jamie

  2. Ursula Glenn Says:

    Try to get some Kefir “grains” (life culture). You can buy them on line or get them through people in your community, who are making their own Kefir. Just ask around. It is so easy to make and even healthier than the one made in the “factory”. When you make homemade Kefir the “grains” (the culture that looks like cottage cheese) grows and you need only about 2 tblsp. for 2 cups of milk. Any more grains can be shared with interested friends. Since I have started to drink Kefir I am feeling “g
    ood” and I have discovered that when I drink a sm. glass right before I go to bed I sleep through the night – I had sleeping problems before.

    • J & K Says:

      Thanks so much for the info! I have a friend who was telling me about this, but since I’m moving soon, I wanted to wait. When I get settled into my new place, I’d definitely be interested in trying this out. Thanks! -Jamie


Leave a Reply

