Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Blueberry Coconut English Muffin Trio May 26, 2011

Blueberry Coconut English Muffin Trio

Jamie says:  Which story should I tell?  Do I thank my friend Lindsey, a dietitian at the VA Hospital, for introducing me to sprouted grain English muffins?  Or do I thank my sister for making me this beautiful plate to match our kitchen flower pots?  Or my Dad for letting me take some of his prized sweetened coconut flakes from home?  Or do I say that the blueberries in this recipe are the ones I picked at Eunshil’s and the flowers pictures are the absolutely gorgeous flowers she gave me?  Looks like I just told it all.

Blueberry Coconut English Muffin Trio

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp sweetened coconut (Baker’s)
  • one 7-sprouted grains English muffin (Food For Life, freezer section of Publix)
  • 1 Tbsp all natural creamy almond butter (MaraNatha)
  • 1 Tbsp low sodium-lightly salted whipped buttery spread (Smart Balance)
  • 1/4 blueberries (freshly-picked from a blueberry bush)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to about 375°F.  Spread coconut on a baking sheet.  Toast until golden brown- about 5 minutes.
  2. Partially-defrost whole English muffin by placing it on top of a heating toaster.  When it’s defrosted enough to slice, use a serrated knife and slice into thirds, not halves (as shown).  Toast pieces in toaster.
  3. Spread almond butter on one piece.  Top with blueberries.  Spread Smart Balance on the other two pieces.  Top one with blueberries and toasted coconut, and the other with toasted coconut.  Serves: 1.  Enjoy your trio sampler!
  • Nutrition note:  Sprouted whole grains are higher in many important nutrients, including vitamin C, B vitamins and folate, fiber, and the essential amino acids that are usually low in whole grains, according to the Whole Grains Council.
 

Leave a Reply

