Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Pistachio Pomegranate Slaw May 10, 2011

Pistachio Pomegranate Slaw

Jamie says:  I went to a Gainesville District Dietetic Association (GDDA) potluck tonight.  I decided to get a little creative with a bag of broccoli slaw I bought the other day, so I made Pistachio Pomegranate Slaw.  Everyone ended up bringing slaws and “salads,” but it was nice to have the healthy variety (and some cheesecake).  I even tried my first mulberry.  I’m enjoying trying new foods.  The other week it was sardines, now it’s mulberries.  What’s next? 

Pistachio Pomegranate Slaw

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz bag broccoli slaw (Eat Smart, washed & ready to eat)
  • 1/3 cup pomegranate vinaigrette (Marzetti Simply Dressed)
  • 1/3 cup california raisins (Publix)
  • 1/2 cup california pistachios (Kirkland Signature, roasted and salted)

Directions:

  1. Pour broccoli slaw, dressing, and raisins into a bowl with a lid.  Shake well and stir with a fork.  Refrigerate for 10 hours.
  2. Meanwhile, shell pistachio nuts.   

I left a bowl of it for K in the fridge.  She came in my room with it while I was blogging and described it as: “Sweet and tangy with a subtle pistachio taste.”  I say it tastes refreshing and healthy.  I like the array of colors. There’s not too many purple foods out there and there’s a hint of purple in both the  broccoli slaw and the pistachios.

  • Nutrition note: Broccoli slaw is low in calories and high in antioxidants vitamin A and vitamin C.  It’s made with the inside stem of the broccoli, carrots, and red cabbage.
 

2 Responses to “Pistachio Pomegranate Slaw”

  1. Robin Katzenstein Says:

    Wow, What a great blog! I’m going to try the pistachio pomegranet slaw this week. I just found a new resource for recipes. Thanks
    Oh, and happy graduation again Kathryn. The party was fun.

    • J & K Says:

      Thanks, Robin! I’m glad you like the blog. It was nice seeing you, too. Let us know what you think of the slaw. Hope you enjoy!
      -Jamie


Leave a Reply

