Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chicken Enchiladas March 13, 2011

Chicken Enchilada

Jamie says:  Today’s the last day of “spring break.”  I put it in quotes because practically everyone is on spring break, but my spring break isn’t until later.  Originally, I’m not going to lie, I was kind of dreading the thought of being here alone working (I call doing my internship working) while almost everyone else was out having tons of fun (as evidenced by friends’ Facebook statuses of beach days, vacations, etc).  However, I was pleasantly surprised that I was not bored one minute and I really enjoyed my week of peace and quiet.  I cleaned the house and got lots of stuff checked off my to-do list, and cooked every night- I told myself I wasn’t going to be one of those people who didn’t cook because I didn’t have anyone here to cook for.  The chicken enchiladas was one of my favorite meals of the week.

Chicken Enchiladas

(recipe adapted from Cabot’s Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas recipe)

Ingredients:

  • PAM no-stick cooking spray
  • 8 oz Cabot 75% reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese
  • 15 oz Bush’s Best reduced sodium black beans
  • 1/4 medium sweet onion
  • 10 oz Tyson grilled and ready fully cooked oven roasted diced chicken breast
  • 8 oz Publix light sour cream
  • 1 1/2 cups Publix frozen kernel corn
  • 4 Toufayan Bakeries wheat wraps
  • 15 oz can El Rio all natural enchilada sauce
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 4 oz can La Preferida mild green chiles, roasted and peeled, diced
  • 1 Publix Romaine heart (Romaine lettuce)  

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.  Coat a 9×13 inch baking dish with no-stick cooking spray.
  2. Grate 1/2 the block of cheese into a bowl and set aside. 
  3. Drain black beans in a colander. Set aside and allow to drain.
  4. Chop onion.
  5. In a large bowl, combine chicken, 1 cup grated cheese (reserving the remaining cup), sour cream, chopped onion, black beans, and frozen corn.  Mix well.
  6. Place 1/4th of the filling down the center of each tortilla and roll up.  Place in a single layer on coated baking dish. Pour the can of enchilada sauce on top.
  7. Microwave the remaining cheese for about 20 seconds, stir, and repeat for 10-second intervals if needed to make soft enough to spread.  Use a spoon to spread the cheese on top of the enchiladas.  Chop tomato.  Top enchiladas with tomatoes and can of chiles.  Bake for about 25 minutes or until lightly browned and bubbling.
  8. Shred lettuce (cut into thin pieces).  Serve enchilada with shredded lettuce on the side.  Serves: 4.  Enjoy!

Wow!  So good!  I thought I was in an authentic Mexican restaurant for a minute.

  • Nutrition note:  Cabot 75% reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese has only 1/4th the fat of cheddar cheese.  A one ounce serving has only 60 calories (which is low for cheese).It has 9 grams of protein and 20% of your calcium needs (both of which are high for cheese).
 

2 Responses to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. Jacquelyn Says:

    Thanks for using one of our recipes! It looks like it turned out amazing- now I want enchiladas for dinner!
    ~Jacquelyn


Leave a Reply

