Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Lemonade July 19, 2010

Lemonade

Jamie says:  Lemonade makes me think of two things: children selling lemonade in the intense heat of the summer and the the expression “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”  

When I was on a run back at home a couple of weeks ago, I saw two kids selling lemonade on a street corner near my house.  They had signs posted on almost every stop sign in the neighborhood.  I smiled at them, said “hi,” and ran on.  I felt bad I had no money with me because it reminded me of the couple of times I sold lemonade as a kid…all that work for a dollar or two. 

As for the expression “when life gives you lemons make lemonade,” I’m past the little lemon/lemonade phase I had (car accident, broken car window, etc.).  Thank goodness.  

Lemonade 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 lemon
  • 3 Truvia packets
  • 10 ice cubes
  • 2 cups of cool water

Directions: 

  1. Wash lemon, cut in half, and squeeze juice into a pitcher.
  2. Add Truvia packets, ice cubes, and water to pitcher. 
  3. Stir well.  Enjoy!

This beverage was so refreshing!  I was never a big lemonade fan, but now I am sold on it.

  • Nutrition note:  This lemonade is a very low-calorie beverage.  A tablespoon of lemon juice only has 4 calories (and it has vitamin C).  Truvia, which comes from the leaves of the stevia plant (from the rebiana),is natural and has zero calories.
 

One Response to “Lemonade”

  1. Heather LePage Says:

    I made this! So refreshing 🙂


Leave a Reply

