Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chili ‘n’ Cornbread May 14, 2010

Pork Chili

Cornbread

Jamie says:  I threw a girls’ night dinner party to catch up with some of my friends during my first week of summer classes. Chili and cornbread were on the menu.  This dinner had quite a few interesting stories.  Let’s start with the first one: #1) When I was making the cornbread, there was NO corn in the can of corn- all liquid, no corn!  So I had to go to Publix for the third time this week, which is unheard of.  (I decided to go with the trusted Del Monte brand this time instead of the Publix brand.)  #2)  This was my cousin Lauren’s first time ever eating chili.  #3) This was my friend James’ last meat meal.  (Ironic. I made my friend Heather her first meat meal, and now I was making James her last meat meal.)   #4) The chili recipe said it served 2, so I doubled it and added extra sauce… however, it probably made 14 servings, so I now have enough chili in my freezer to feed a small village.

Recipes:

Cornbread (modified from my mother’s corn souffle recipe): Mix 1 box of Jiffy cornbread mix, 1 can of kernel corn, and 1 can of creamed corn (do NOT drain juice from either can) in a 13 x 9 inch baking pan sprayed with PAM cooking spray.  Put slices of Smart Balance Omega 3 Butter Spread on top.  Bake for 55 minutes at 350 degrees Farenheit.  Add shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

Chili: Recipe adapted from The bon appetit cookbook.  I’ll give you the recipe to “serve 2.”  In a large pot,  heat 1 1/2  Tbsp canola oil and 1 large, chopped onion on medium heat for 5 minutes (stir).  Add minced garlic from 3 large cloves and cook an additional 5 minutes (stir).  Add 1 lb of ground pork, salt, and pepper, and cook until meat is no longer pink.  Add 1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder (stir and cook for 1 minute).  Add 1 large can of crushed tomatoes with added puree, 1 can kidney beans (no liquid), and 2 Tbsp tomato paste (stir).  Cook, covered, over low heat for 30 minutes (stirring occasionally).  Serve with shredded cheese (use same bag from cornbread recipe), reduced fat sour cream, and fresh cilantro.

It seemed as though everyone enjoyed dinner and everyone’s company.  It was a fun night.

Nutrition note:  Beans are a good source of fiber.  Among other benefits, fiber fills you up and keeps you full.  A 1/2 cup of kidney beans has about 7 grams of fiber, which is about 1/4th of the daily recommeded intake.

 

Leave a Reply

