Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Apple Oatmeal Crisp May 7, 2010

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Kathryn says: My friend Amy hosted another lovely dinner party, and, being the stellar cook that she is, I didn’t want to show up with a bag of chips.  I knew she’d appreciate something from scratch.

I had a bunch of green apples in the fridge and a craving for oatmeal, so I decided to bake an apple oatmeal crisp.

I modified this recipe from Cooks.com by using Smart Balance instead of butter, keeping the skin on the apples (I like the taste), and replacing lemon juice with Dole Pineapple-Orange Strawberry juice (I didn’t have a lemon).

I liked the crunch of the spiced sugar and oatmeal on the soft apples.  It tasted like a sweet, old-fashioned comfort treat to me. And Amy and her guests seemed to enjoy it too.

 

One Response to “Apple Oatmeal Crisp”

  1. Amy! Says:

    We did enjoy it! I looooove apple crisp. I love just crisp in general. Thanks for the shout-out!


Leave a Reply

