Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Carmelized Banana Bread April 18, 2010

Carmelized Banana Bread

Jamie says:  It is nice to have Mom and Dad here for the weekend. Dad loves banana bread, so I surprised him yesterday morning by making a loaf for breakfast. I woke up early and made Caramelized Banana Loaf Cake from the Everyday with Rachel Ray magazine (please see link for recipe). Surprisingly, we had all the ingredients- despite not having been grocery shopping in over 2 weeks!  

I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used Smart Balance Omega 3 Buttery Spread instead of butter. I also did not have baking powder, but I remembered Food Science class from undergrad. So I mixed baking soda (base) and white distilled vinegar (acid) to replace the baking powder. As a side note, be careful not to burn the sugar during the caramelization process… all I am going to say on that is “third times a charm.” 

The banana bread was delicious!  I really liked the sweet caramelized bananas on the bottom, the touch of cinnamon, and tenderness of the bread. Dad said it was the best thing I ever cooked for him!  

P.S.  Kathryn and I BOTH went to Publix together last night with Mom.  We now have a fully-stocked fridge, freezer, and pantry. I say we both earned a point in our competition (even though that would cancel out). 

Nutrition note:  Go grocery shopping with a list and a happy (not empty) stomach to save money and make more healthful food selections.

 

Leave a Reply

