Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chicken Sausage Sandwich April 8, 2010

Chicken Sausage Sandwich

Jamie says:  K and I only used 2 of the al fresco Sundried Tomato with Basil Chicken Sausages from the package when we made the Chicken Sausage Veggie Pizza (please see previous blog post), so we froze the extra 2.  For a quick and delicious dinner later in the week, I made Chicken Sausage Sandwiches. I read in a cooking magazine how onions should be sautéed at a low temperature for a long time, so I tried it out.  

First, I sautéed chopped onion in extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper on low heat for about an hour (stirring often). For the last 20 minutes or so, I added the frozen cooked sausages to the pan with the onions so that they would defrost. For the last 2 minutes, I mixed in spinach, olives, anchovies, and pieces of string cheese. I made an open-faced sandwich using whole wheat bread by putting 1/2 a sausage on each slice of bread and distributing the topping evenly. I then topped the sandwich with Publix GreenWise Organic Tomato Ketchup.

Kathryn raved about dinner, and I really enjoyed it, too.  Maybe it was the low temperature cooking of the onions that was the trick, but I am not sure. Whatever it was, it was good.

Nutrition note: Publix GreenWise Organic Tomato Ketchup does not contain high fructose corn syrup (HFCS).  (There is mixed research on whether HFCS is metabolized the same as regular sugar or if it is worse for you.)

 

One Response to “Chicken Sausage Sandwich”

  1. dad Says:

    It is lunch time now and i made the mistake of looking on your site!
    NOW IM STARVING AND DO NOT HAVE OR WANT TO GO OUT TO GET THE SAUSAGE SANDWICH
    SO,
    can I get this sometime, when we come up from friday to sunday, PLEASE.
    I AM WILLING TO WORK FOR IT OR TO PAY FOR IT.
    LOVE
    DAD


Leave a Reply

