Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chicken Sausage Veggie Pizza March 25, 2010

Chicken Sausage Veggie Pizza

Jamie says:  Recipes teach you something that you can add to your cooking toolbox to use at a later time. For example, after cooking from tonight’s recipe, I now know I like chicken sausage, feta cheese, broccoli, and fresh cilantro and parsley on pizza. So, I was looking through my cookbook (of personally selected recipes from magazines, newspapers, neighbors, etc.) for a recipe to try this week, and came across two pizza recipes.  I couldn’t decide, so I combined them- and then changed them drastically.

Here’s my killer recipe:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees Farenheit. Chop broccoli, place in a baking dish, and add  extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper. Cook for about 25 minutes and set aside. Meanwhile, heat 2 al fresco Sundried Tomato with Basil Chicken Sausages on medium heat for about 7 minutes, turning occasionally. Spread pizza dough (from Publix bakery section) on a baking sheet greased with spray PAM. Mix tomato sauce and tomato paste and spread on pizza. Add lots of dried oregano. Cut anchovies into small pieces and add to pizza. Generously sprinkle Sargento Shredded Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Italian on top. Press olive halves around the crust. Slice sausages, red bell pepper, and onion and add to pizza. Add Publix Feta Reduced Fat Crumbled Cheese. Add fresh cilantro and fresh parsley. Bake for about 25 minutes. Add cooked broccoli to top of pizza. Serve and savor.
 
I think this was the best pizza I’ve ever made!  (Oh, and K helped out, too.) We enjoyed  the pizza by candlelight and listened to the pitter-patter of the rain. It was nice to be inside.
 
Nutrition note: Reduce the fat- the saturated fat (and trans fats). Saturated fat raises your LDL (bad) cholesterol. Chicken sausage has a lot less fat than pork sausage, and so do reduced fat and low fat cheeses. 
 

2 Responses to “Chicken Sausage Veggie Pizza”

  1. Clarissa Says:

    The instant I saw this delicious looking pizza I knew I had to try it! Let me just say that J & K have done it again 🙂 This was definitely the most delicious homemade pizza I have ever tasted and I will surely make it again!!!!


Leave a Reply

