Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Pasta Rapini March 9, 2010

Pasta Rapini

 Jamie says:  I had two requirements for this meal:  1) to use the broccoli rapini up and 2) to make a dinner out of it.  I succeeded in both.   

Here’s the recipe: Cook pasta according to directions (or a little longer like I do).  (I used whole wheat penne and shells because that’s what I had in the pantry.)  Cut off the top of a bulb of garlic (about 1 inch deep) and place the bulb on a small sheet of aluminum foil.  Drizzle extra virgin olive oil on the bulb- covering the cloves.  Place the top back on the bulb of garlic, fold up the aluminum foil (like a pocket) around the garlic bulb, and bake in the oven at about 375 degrees Farenheit for about 25 minutes.  Meanwhile, wash and cut broccoli rapini.  Saute’ rapini with extra virgin olive oil in a large pan on medium heat.  Additionally, slice fresh tomato into small pieces.  When everything is done cooking, drain pasta, push out cloves of garlic into pasta, and add rapini and tomato.  Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper.  I didn’t have cheese, but if I did, I would try Parmesan. 

The meal was fabulous.  I love extra virgin olive oil with salt on pasta.  The broccoli rapini has a nice bitter taste.  And the soft whole garlic cloves really make the dish remarkable.  (I’d like to credit a friend who taught me to cook garlic this way a few years ago.)   

Nutrition note:  Be adventurous!  Try a fruit or vegetable that you haven’t tried before (i.e. broccoli rapini).

 

Leave a Reply

