Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Heather’s First Meat Meal January 24, 2010

Chicken Stuffed with Mozzarella Cheese

Jamie says:  I was so honored!  My friend Heather asked me if I would cook for her the first meat dish of her life!  She’s been a vegetarian her entire life and wanted to try meat since she is going to Africa soon.  I’ve been thinking about what to cook all week- even when I was swimming laps in the pool.  What on earth do you make someone who is trying meat for the first time?  She would probably judge all meat by this experience.  What if she didn’t like it and decided not to eat meat ever again?  I figured chicken would be safe- it’s kind of plain and chicken is classic.  I brainstormed all sorts of ways to cook chicken- chili, fajitas, quesadillas, salads, soup, pasta, sandwiches, etc.  I pulled out cookbooks and “phoned a friend” (aka I asked my Mom and some foodie friends).  K and I finally decided on our own recipe:

We bought chicken fillets and dipped them in melted Smart Balance Omega 3 spread.  We then shook them one at a time in a large Ziplock bag that contained minced garlic, parsley, basil, sea salt, pepper, and Ian’s Panko Breadcrumbs Italian Style.  We cooked the chicken and after it was almost done, we sliced the fillets in half and added Sorrento low-fat mozzarella cheese in the middle.  We returned the chicken to the oven and took them out when the meat was fully cooked and the cheese melted.

We served Heather this meal at a potluck dinner at our apartment with our Tuesday lunch group.  Our friends brought Caesar salad, mashed potatoes and gravy, and extra chocolately brownies to complete the meal.  We tried not to make a big scene out of Heather taking her first bite, so Kathryn kept the conversation flowing.  I was so proud of Heather.  She didn’t even freak out or say much.  She bit into that chicken like a pro.  I think everyone enjoyed the chicken and the meal and supporting Heather on her adventure.  (I couldn’t really taste the chicken as well as usual since I have a cold, but I asked Kathryn what she thought of it and she really liked the flavor and especially enjoyed the crunchy breadcrumbs.)  Dinner was a success.  Heather’s second stab at meat will be a turkey sandwich at Tuesday lunch…can’t wait!

Nutrition note:  Although eating meat may be mentally intimidating for a vegetarian, he or she can physically handle and digest meat.

 

3 Responses to “Heather’s First Meat Meal”

  1. the girl james Says:

    yay! i’m glad it went over well :]

  2. Amanda Says:

    Dinner was so much fun tonight and it went really well. Potlucks are the best and thanks so much for hosting. Can’t wait to do lunch on Tuesday!!

  3. Sergio Says:

    Proud of you Heather. Hopefully you’ll learn new recipes so you can cook for me when I’m really old and grumpy.
    Love

    Papi


Leave a Reply

