Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Penne Bruschetta January 23, 2010

Penne Bruschetta with Garlic, Mozzarella, Tomatoes, and Breadcrumbs

Penne Bruschetta Variation with Cheddar Cheese and Spinach

Jamie says:  To make this creation, I first boiled whole grain penne pasta.  Meanwhile, I diced fresh tomatoes and sprinkled sea salt, ground pepper, parsley and basil on them.  I then sautéed some minced garlic in extra virgin olive oil in a pan.  I added Ian’s Panko Breadcrumbs Italian Style to the pan to soak up some of the oil.  I then added chunks of mozzarella cheese and the diced fresh tomatoes so that they would get warm.  I poured the penne into my bowl and drizzled some extra virgin olive oil on top.  I then added my bruschetta mixture, and voilà- I had a wonderful dinner.  Later, K and I made some chocolate chip “brownies” for dessert.  It came out more like a cake, but it was still delicious though! 

The penne bruschetta pasta was so good that I used the plain leftover pasta to make the recipe again for lunch the next day.  This time, though, I used finely shredded cheddar cheese and added spinach.  Since the pasta was cold, I threw it in the pan with the rest of the ingredients to heat it up.  I liked it even better than dinner the night before, which is quite amazing because it can be hard to make a great thing even better.  

Nutrition note:  Tomatoes have lycopene in them.  Eating foods with a lot of lycopene is associated with a reduced risk of some diseases such as cancer and cardiovascular disease.

 

Leave a Reply

