Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet and Crunchy Broccoli Slaw January 13, 2010

Craisin Broccoli Slaw

Kathryn says: I cringe at the sight of food going to waste, but I’d gotten in the habit of chopping the tops off the broccoli to be used for cooking and throwing away the bulky, hard stalks.

One night, I thought, “Enough is enough,” and I slid the stalks into a plastic bag instead of the trash can.  I challenged myself to make use of them.

So a couple nights later, J and I were in the kitchen, and I decided I’d try making my first broccoli slaw.  I like being adventurous when it comes to food!

The ingredients were inspired by a cranberry coleslaw recipe  from the “Fix-It and Enjoy-It!” cookbook.  Jennifer Kay Nelson, R.D., the Mayo Clinic’s director of clinical dietetics and nutrition, recommended the coleslaw recipe as a heart-healthy side dish in an interview I conducted with her.

I thinly sliced the broccoli stalks and added apple cider vinegar, celery seeds, dried cranberries and Truvia. 

Truvia is a natural sweetener.  J and I have had free samples of it in our pantry for a while, so I decided to give it a try.  Unlike artificial sweeteners, we noted that it did not have a strange after-taste.

J and I loved the slaw!  In fact, when I had her help me pick the photo for this post, she started salivating and said we should make it again soon.

I like how it’s cold, crunchy and sweet!

 

One Response to “Sweet and Crunchy Broccoli Slaw”

  1. […] a use for the vegetable parts that you would normally just toss.  In Kathryn’s blog post, Sweet and Crunchy Broccoli Slaw, she used the broccoli stalks to make broccoli slaw.  In this case,  I saved the greens from […]


Leave a Reply

