Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sweet Potato Chips January 2, 2010

Sweet Potato Chips

 Jamie says:  A week ago, Kathryn was working on an article for the Women’s Health Web site and she found a recipe for sweet potato chips.  When I was trying to decide what I could make as a side to go with my lunch, I remembered her find.  So, I tried the sweet potato recipe out.  They were a hit!  Kathryn and her friend Leigh Ann were raving about them.

I pretty much followed the recipe online except for a few small modifications.  To make these chips, I heated the oven to 375 degrees Farenheit.  I sliced a washed sweet potato (I left the skin on) into thin slices.  I then sprayed a baking sheet with PAM cooking spray, added the sweet potato slices, and sprayed the slices with more PAM.  I baked them for 7 minutes and then rotated the pan and continued baking for another 28 minutes.  During the cook time, I mixed 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp chili powder, and 1/2 tsp salt.  When the sweet potatoes were done cooking, I tossed them in the seasoning by using a Tupperware container with a lid.  http://recipes.womenshealthmag.com/Recipe/spiced-sweet-potato-chips.aspx 

Nutrition note:  Sweet potatoes contain beta carotene (vitamin A).  Vitamin A is important for eye health.

 

Leave a Reply

