Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Birthday Banana Bread December 31, 2009

Birthday Banana Bread

Birthday Banana Bread

Jamie says:  Dad absolutely loves homemade banana bread.  I really surprised Dad this morning by singing happy birthday to him while I held a mini loaf of banana bread with a candle in it.  (His birthday isn’t for another 3 weeks.)  The bread was warm and delicious- definitely a repeater. 

I modified a banana bread recipe I found from the Food Network (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/banana-bread-with-pecans-recipe/index.html).  I used 1 stick of butter (equivalent to 1/2 cup butter) and 1/4 cup of Mott’s Apple Sauce (instead of the recommended total of 3/4 cup of butter).  I also used 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (instead of pecans).  I omitted the confectioners’ sugar and added 1/4 cup Craisins.  I put some of the mix in a mini loaf pan and the rest in a 9 by 5 inch loaf pan.  I baked the mini loaf  for about 35 minutes, and the big loaf for about 1 hour and 20 minutes.  (I would try the recommended 1 hour and 15 minutes next time).  We all enjoyed the mini loaf this morning.  I put the big loaf in the freezer so that Dad can think of me and enjoy the banana bread on his real birthday.

Nutrition note:  To reduce the fat and calories in a recipe, you can substitute apple sauce for butter.  It’s still moist and flavorful, too!

 

One Response to “Birthday Banana Bread”

  1. Joe Stolarz Says:

    Jamie,
    Thank you sooooooooooo much for the birthday bread
    Looking forward to the birthday and the next loaf!


Leave a Reply

