Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Let It Snow Brownies December 22, 2009

Let It Snow BrowniesLet It Snow Snowflake BrownieJamie says:  Holiday baking can be so much fun.  When we were younger, Kathryn and I used to bake dozens of cookies with Mom and Aunt Angi for an annual Mother-Daughter cookie exchange.  We would bring home all sorts of different cookies.  This year, I felt like having a similar variety of treats.  The first dessert I whipped up was Mocha Brownies- or Let It Snow Brownies- as I would like to call my modification of the recipe.  My Mom introduced me to this recipe from the Williams-Sonoma Picnics and Tailgates Cookbook.  First, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees Farenheit.  Next, I melted 3/4 cup Smart Balance Buttery Spread and 4 oz unsweetened Baker’s chocolate in the microwave.  In a medium-sized bowl, I dissolved 2 tablespoons of instant coffee in 1 tablespoon of very hot water.  I then added the chocolate-butter mixture to this bowl, along with 2 cups of sugar, 4 eggs (I realized I only had 2…thank goodness for good neighbors), 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt.  I mixed this using a rubber spatula.  I baked for about 30 minutes (toothpick should come out clean and brownies should be fudgy), allowed the brownies to cool, and then sliced 24 brownies.  I then used Martha Stewart Cupcake and Cookie Stencils and spooned confectioners’ sugar on top to make the pretty holiday designs.  They were delicious and really quite pretty.  My favorite design was the snowflake!

Nutrition note:  Be conscious of portion sizes, especially of sweets.  One of these brownies contains about 180 calories.

 

3 Responses to “Let It Snow Brownies”

  1. Great post mate! Wheres the subscribe button? Haha

  2. […] small mocha brownie (made with love by my Mom; from Williams-Sonoma’s Picnics and Tailgates […]


Leave a Reply

