Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Yogurt Key Lime Pie November 23, 2009

Yogurt Key Lime PieJamie says:  Happy Thanksgiving!  I attended a Thanksgiving potluck dinner this weekend where everyone brought a dish and dressed up as pilgrims and Indians.  It was a lot of fun and the food was delicious.  I had been thinking about making a graham cracker crust for weeks now, so I decided this was the perfect time to try.  I found a recipe for a blueberry pie and used the graham cracker crust recipe as a guide.  I really enjoyed the Publix fat free light key lime pie yogurt I tried recently, so  I was inspired to make a healthier key lime pie by substituting key lime pie filling for this tasty yogurt.  The filling was thinner than a typical key lime pie because I used yogurt, but I think it was worth it.  I received a lot of complements, so I guess my experimental pie turned out quite well!  Here’s the recipe: 

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Toast 1 cup walnuts in oven for about 6 minutes or until lightly toasted.  Coarsely chop walnuts.  Finely crush 10 graham cracker sheets (= 20 squares) in a ziplock bag.  Whisk 2 large egg whites in a medium sized bowl until frothy.  Add chopped walnuts, graham cracker crumbs, 2 tablespoons Smart Balance Omega 3 spread, 2 tablespoons canola oil, and a pinch of salt to egg whites.  Blend until smooth.  Press mixture into the bottom and sides of a 9-inch pie pan.  Bake for 18 minutes.   Allow to cool completely.  Pour 3 six ounce containers of fat free light key lime pie yogurt (Publix brand) into the pie crust and spread evenly.  Keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

Nutrition note: Simple substitutions can add up.  To reduce the amount of calories and saturated fat in a recipe, try using a heart-healthy spread with no trans fats (like Smart Balance spread) instead of butter.

 

Leave a Reply

