Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Playing with Parsnips November 22, 2009

Spiced Chicken, Black Beans with Onions and Tomatoes, and ParsnipsJamie says:  I was set on making chicken with black beans and rice, but sometimes things do not go exactly as planned.  When I looked at the directions on the container of rice, I realized I didn’t have an hour to wait for the rice to cook- and good thing because that’s when I decided to spice up the black beans and throw in some parsnips. 

To make this Latin-inspired meal, I first washed and chopped up a bag of parsnips.  Parsnips are new to me, but I really enjoy them.  They have a texture and shape like a carrot and taste somewhat like a potato.  I coated the parsnips with extra virgin olive oil, seasoned sea salt, and ground pepper.  To make the chicken, I poured some of my Uncle Rick’s herb seasonings on top and baked it.  I then sautéed slices of onion in extra virgin olive oil.  After they turned a nice caramel color, I added black beans and some dried cilantro.  I topped the beans with chunks of fresh tomato.

I was very pleased with dinner.  It was delicious and the presentation was beautiful with a nice array of colors.  Kathryn couldn’t stop raving over the meal, which is like music to a chef’s ears.

Nutrition note: 1/2 cup of black beans contains about 25% of the daily value of fiber.

 

Leave a Reply

