Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Make Your Own Croutons – in Minutes! November 16, 2009

Crunchy Corn and Crouton Salad
Crunchy Corn and Crouton Salad

Kathryn says:  My Mom taught me how to make croutons.  Although I’m not a fan of restaurant croutons, homemade ones are delicious!

 
I cut up a slice of whole-grain bread into squares, spread them out on a baking sheet, drizzled olive oil, sea salt and ground pepper on top, and broiled them in the oven for just a few minutes.  If you try this, make sure you check them every minute or so, because they bake quickly, and you don’t want to burn them!  They also emit an amazing bakery aroma while they’re cooking.
 
I sprinkled Publix mixed pre-washed lettuce on my plate and topped it with tomatoes, leftover ground pork that I had pan-fried the night before, and leftover corn on the cob that I cut off the cob, tomatoes, and more olive oil.  Gotta love using up those leftovers!  I sprinkled the hot croutons on top, of course.  It was incredibly flavorful and crunchy salad.  I highly recommend this one.
 

Leave a Reply

