Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Rachel Ray would be proud of me this week November 14, 2009

Pork Burger Salad with Corn on the Cob

Pork Burger Salad with Corn on the Cob

  1. Jamie says:  I didn’t think I could top Sunday’s fish dinner, but this bun-less pork burger with corn sure came close!  To make this dinner, I first pan-fried onions with extra virgin olive oil, salt, and ground pepper until browned.  (We’re still working on that bag of onions from Mom and Dad’s trip to Georgia.)  After setting the onions aside, I cooked the corn in the same pan rolling it with some Smart Balance Omega Buttery Spread until it was lightly brown on all “sides.”  I then mixed ground pork with Gourmet Warehouse of Hilton Head Honey Garlic Marinade.  I cooked the pork in a second pan until it was brown.  I then drained the juices and added Publix sharp cheddar fancy shredded cheese on top.  While the food was cooking I chopped lettuce.  I used the lettuce as the base of my bun-less pork burger salad.  I added the pork burger and then the cooked onions on top.  I drew a circle around the pork burger with Publix Greenwise Organic Tomato Ketchup and some lines with Publix Spicy Brown Mustard.  I felt like an artist.  Next, I added Italian seasoned sea salt to the corn.  I enjoyed eating the pork burger as a salad- it wasn’t nearly as messy.  The honey garlic taste was incredibly flavorful and gave the pork burger a tasty kick.  For “dessert,” I had a slice of toasted Pepperidge Farm Oatmeal bread with Smucker’s Natural Chunky Peanut Butter and apple slices on top.  Rachel Ray would be proud of me this week!

Nutrition note:  Aim for a balanced meal by incorporating multiple food groups into your meal.  The food groups are: Grains, Milk, Fruit, Vegetables, and Meat & Beans.

 

Leave a Reply

