Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Fish so good, it made me smile November 11, 2009

Breaded Tilapia with Anchovies, Artichoke Hearts, Black Olives, and Parmesan Cheese

Breaded Tilapia with Anchovies, Artichoke Hearts, Black Olives, and Parmesan Cheese

Jamie says:  Sunday night is fish night.  After attending  a Zumba dance class, I was in need of  a quick meal so that I could get to studying for my Proteins and Amino Acids exam.  So I quickly whipped up this fish and added it to Kathryn’s fabulous zucchini, which she kindly left on the stove for me.  It was so quick and easy- and most importantly, so DELICIOUS.  To make this Heavenly fish, I put a piece of tilapia in a pan with Smart Balance Omega Buttery Spread (made with extra virgin olive oil).  I then added Ian’s Panko Breadcrumbs (Italian style).  After flipping the fish, I added 2 anchovies (King Oscar flat anchovies), lots of artichoke hearts (Vigo brand, canned and quartered), and some black olives (Publix small).  Lastly, I sprinkled Publix Parmesan shredded cheese on top.  The golden brown fish was tender, flakey, and moist.  The bread crumbs melded the buttery and salty flavors together.  This fish dish had the perfect medley of flavors.  The meal had me scraping plate for more, and I left the table with a smile…it was that good!

Nutrition Note:  Smart Balance Omega Buttery Spread is a good substitute for butter.  It has omega 3 fatty acids which are protective against cardiovascular disease.  The spread also has added vitamins including vitamin D, which is important for bone health and decreasing the risk of many chronic diseases.  (Just don’t overdo it, because it is still a source of fat.)

 

Leave a Reply

