Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Chicken Soup October 12, 2009

Chicken and Rice Soup with Greens and Beans with Homemade Croutons

Chicken and Rice Soup with Greens and Beans with Homemade Croutons

Jamie says:  I made chicken soup tonight.  I called my Mom for a little advice on how to make the soup and found out that she was also making chicken soup for dinner.  Like mother, like daughter.  My chicken soup reminded me of something that my Grandmother makes because she cooks with “whatever falls out of the fridge.”  And I do have to give credit to my Mom for sharing her outstanding crouton recipe with me.  My Mom’s famous crouton recipe calls for cubes of loaf bread, olive oil, sea salt, and pepper.  To make the soup, I put the following in a big pot: chicken stock, brown rice, kidney beans, frozen spinach, frozen chicken breast, garlic, celery leaves and stalks, and frozen sauteed mushrooms and onions that I made another day.  To season the soup, I added thyme, oregano, basil, and sea salt.  I topped the soup with a handful of homemade croutons.  Kathryn and I really enjoyed dinner.  It was a tasty, healthy, and hearty meal.

Nutrition note:  Kidney beans are an excellent source of folic acid.

 

One Response to “Chicken Soup”

  1. dad Says:

    ps
    if you dont feel like that sausage sandwich one-
    HOWS ABOUT THAT CHICKEN SOUP!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

