Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Sunday Sauce September 14, 2009

Whole Wheat Penne with Shrimp, Red Sauce, and Parmesan Cheese

Whole Wheat Penne with Shrimp, Red Sauce, and Parmesan Cheese

Jamie says:  Grandma gave me a frying pan this summer.  It wasn’t just any frying pan, though.  It was her Italian Grandmother’s!  I keep thinking about what this pan has “seen” and been through.  Last night, I used it to make  a nice Sunday meal for Kathryn and me- shrimp with red sauce (canned tomato sauce, canned diced tomatoes, fresh garlic, and fresh basil from our little window-sill herb pot) served over whole wheat penne pasta and topped with shredded parmesan cheese.  My Grandma used to make pasta with red sauce every Sunday for her family (hence the name Sunday Sauce).  Kathryn and I really enjoyed our rendition of the meal.  It was a nice Sunday and the perfect end to the fun weekend.

 

3 Responses to “Sunday Sauce”

  1. Nick Shephard Says:

    This looks amazing! When I met you at Publix today I didn’t realize I was talking to such an esteemed chef. I think hiring you to bake us cookies would’ve been the best option. Are there any cookie recipes on this web site?

    • J & K Says:

      Thank you for the comment! We have one awesome cookie recipe on our blog. If you look on the left hand side of the main page, click the “dessert” hyperlink. The cookies are titled “Hold The Butter, Not the Flavor.”

  2. nicole Says:

    that looks very yummy. I might have to try the reciepe. I love pasta and shrimps, excellent combination!!!!!!!!
    I like your blog


Leave a Reply

