Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Hold the Butter, Not the Flavor July 29, 2009

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Kathryn says: Before settling into my spot on the couch to watch The Office with my family, I embraced my sudden urge to bake cookies for the office at which I was volunteering the next day.

I modified the tried and true Quaker Oats’ Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies recipe (http://www.quakeroats.com/cooking-and-recipes/content/recipes/recipe-detail.aspx?recipeId=474) in the following ways:

For one, I added a cup of Publix semi-sweet chocolate chip morsels.  After all, a cookie without chocolate is like a pond without water! 

The other adjustment I made was to substitute vegetable oil in place of the butter.  I asked J, my nutritionist sis, for a healthy substitute.  She said for every cup of butter, substitute 3/4 cup of canola oil, but we only had vegetable oil in, which she said would be fine.

The cookies came out puffier with the oil than the times I had made them with butter.  They were crunchy and sweet.  They were a tasty dessert to compliment a hilarious show and an appreciative office the next day.  Dad and J wouldn’t stop raving about them!

 

Leave a Reply

