Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

A Slow Cooker Soup July 28, 2009

Lentil-Veggie Soup

Lentil-Veggie Soup

Jamie says:  I experimented cooking with our Crock-Pot (The Original Slow Cooker) because sometimes it’s more convenient to cook dinners earlier in the day.  In my Better Homes and Gardens Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes Cookbook, I found a recipe for Lentil-Veggie Soup.  It was interesting making dinner at 11:00 am.  I doubled the recipe, because leftovers make good lunches.  I also had a learning experience- I learned that the heat should be on high and not on low (Mom helped me on that one).  The recipe was pretty good the first night, but nothing like the lentil soup made by my Mom, Grandma, or Carrabba’s Italian Grill.  To increase the flavor, I added my Mom’s homemade croutons (which were outstanding).  I have 4 jars of leftover soup now.  To the leftovers, I added mushrooms, spinach, scallions, Parmesan cheese, and crackers- and the soup became much more flavorful.  I think I’ll stick with my Mom’s lentil soup recipe…but I am not done experimenting with the Crock-Pot.

 

Leave a comment