Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

A Leisurely Afternoon July 10, 2009

Lentils with Wild Rice and Crispy Onions

Lentils with Wild Rice and Crispy Onions

Jamie says:  I have about 30 arrows sticking out of my Mayo Clinic cookbook marking recipes that I will someday try.  Today, Kathryn and I made “Lentils with Wild Rice and Crispy Onions” (http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/healthy-recipes/RE00065) from this cookbook.  The recipe had 4 main components- wild rice, lentils, tomato sauce, and crispy onions.  It took a long time (and a lot of dishes) to make, but I would make one or two of the individual components again one day.  The dish was very flavorful; I especially enjoyed the cumin and cinnamon in the lentils and the crispy onions.  K informed me that the recipe contains many healthy superfoods, too.

 

One Response to “A Leisurely Afternoon”

  1. Aunt Carrie Says:

    Cumin is such a wonderfully distinctive spice. It’s used in the spinach soup that I love to make.


Leave a Reply

