Two Sisters, One Kitchen

Quick, healthy meals by a loving team. See what’s cooking in J & K's kitchen!

Dinner for Three June 23, 2009

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Lemon Rosemary Chicken, White Corn and Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Lemon Rosemary Chicken, White Corn and Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Lemon Rosemary Chicken Breasts
Lemon Rosemary Chicken Breasts
Boiled White Corn

Boiled White Corn

Kathryn says:  I was at my aunt and uncle’s house when Dad called to tell me I was on dinner duty for the evening.  Dad suggested chicken.  My uncle put together a bag of spices and some rosemary sprigs from their garden for the chicken and sent me on my way to cook for my parents.
To make the stuffed Portobello mushrooms, I carved out the mushrooms and put the carvings into a frying pan with spinach leaves, fresh sliced garlic and olive oil and cooked it until the spinach was wilted and the garlic was browned.  Then, I poured the mixture into the hollowed mushrooms.  I added chopped tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, black olives, oregano, basil and an anchovy to each mushroom.  I put them in a pan and baked them at 350 degrees in the oven for about 12 minutes.
To make the corn, I simply rinsed and dropped the cobs into a large pot of water and set the burner on high.  I let the corn come to a boil and then drained the pot.
To make the chicken breasts, I put them in a pan and coated them in olive oil.  Then, I poured a mixture of spices (garam masala,adobo, smoked paprika, ginger and Florida seasoned pepper) on them.  Next, I cut thin slices of lemon and squeezed the juice over the chicken.  I placed the slices over the chicken.  Then, I chopped an onion and added it to the pan.  Lastly, I added fresh rosemary and baked it at 350 degrees until it was thoroughly cooked. 
The simple corn made for a nice contrast to the flavorful chicken and mushrooms.  Our taste buds were dancing!
 

Leave a Reply

